Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm a pretty green newbie to all this prepper stuff. I've got leather-working as an occasional hobby but no other usable skills that I could truly value in the event of something catastrophic happening.
Here's how things stand right now. I live on the Northwest coast in BC Canada. The only thing people here seem to worry about is gas ($1.49 per liter) and what may happen if there is a serious earthquake on the San Andreas fault. I have an earthquake kit that I upgraded a few weeks ago (originally only had 2 blankets, 3 tins of food and a roll of toilet paper) and I have now accumulated 2 full bins of supplies. This is only for an earthquake. I personally think that something worse will happen than a quake and was wondering where to start when it comes to supplies and usable skills. I grew up in a small village in Wales so I didn't grow up with hunting or with guns and knives. I haven't had any experience with camping since my family was poor when I was growing up and couldn't afford it. Now I live in the Vancouver area and it's become incredibly populated. I'm at a loss at where to start with my prepping. I could use all the help I could get for when SHTF.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Food, water and shelter are the very basic needs for survival. That is always the best place to start. You may have more skills than you realize. Most of us take our basic skills for granted. The most important thing is that you have started your preparations.

·
Banned
1,683 Posts
Doesn't matter how green you are, the only thing that matters is you woke up. The rest will follow.

Food
shelter
water
guns
medicine
tools
gear