Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,829 Posts
Welcome, there has been several threads already, but I feel its always good though to start a new discussion for threads lost way down in the mix.

I'm a HAM Tech license, getting ready to go for the General on the 18th of this month. Doing some dual band with repeaters and some simplex with a HT with one contact logged about 15 miles on a Yaesu ft60r ht. I have a 160 meter HF antenna rig setup now (tree to tree) and a inverted "V" for simple 2 meter. Looking at a book to get to study called something "Stealth Amateur Radio" or something like that in order to operate anywhere. Next radio is going to be a Yaesu 857D.

73's!

·
Registered
146 Posts
What exactly is a HAM radio? I don't think I've heard of one.

·
Super Moderator
9,349 Posts
What exactly is a HAM radio? I don't think I've heard of one.
A ham is an amateur radio operator. They are licensed by the FCC. The tag ham was given to amateur radio operators back in the 1920's if memory serves me correctly and it stuck. We call ourselves hams. Amateur radio was promoted by the government back then for emergency communications. We still do emergency communications. In the fiasco that Katrina brought, amateur radio was the only communications they had in and out. In fact there were members from our area there lending assistance. This is strictly volunteer. Ham radio operators train for this worldwide. Hurricanes, tornado's, wars, ham radio is there providing the needed communications.

I have been a ham for over 20yrs and have an extra class license. I went this direction after my wife said she would divorce me if I ever made her listen to a cb again.

·
Registered
146 Posts