Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Some of you may know that I am a professional survival writer, and I have been researching for a potential article about the food shortages of 2020. This also includes interviews with individuals, and supermarket managers, along with internet searches and my own experiences during that time.

The shortage I am referring to is around the time they were closing schools, just prior to the full lock down in March of 2020. People were walking into supermarkets for the 1st time in a week only to see entire sections of isles in the store barren.

Active Preppers have anywhere from 6 months of food to 10 years in storage. Our shopping habits include buying a case to several cases of food at a time. But with the potential lock down and a pandemic at our front door, the impulse to stock our inventory for even longer duration came into play.

I am using a personal experience to show how our methods can cause a SHTF scenario, in this case food shortage. I just heard on the news of a toilet paper shortage, so I told my spouse we should head immediately to the supermarket, not so much for TP, but I was fearful that the shortage of TP would lead to a shortage of food. Just hearing the word "Shortage" triggered in peoples mind, "So what next will there be a shortage of".

We got to the nearest supermarket, and as we walked in I realized that it has already begun, as I saw people online with carts filled to the brim with food. Now it was something of urgency to stock up on items that we did not have. I personally had enough freeze dried rice & dried beans, and meat to last a year, but my spouse was a vegetarian, and not a survivalist nor prepper, and the freeze dried rice and beans had chicken broth in it.