Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
6,086 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
You are in a different part of the house when you hear a crash and your spouse yell out.

When you enter the room the bad guy is using your spouse as a human shield and is armed....

He yells at you to drop your weapon or he will kill your spouse ....

It's your move.....

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
I would be looking for a shovel because my fiance is usually armed and keeps a weapon or two in every room in the house and a few places outside.. If it came to the situation you are talking about. I too would start the negotiation process until the right moment. Then go for the head shot as soon as I could. I am no expert but usually when someone is using someone as a shield. They have no intentions of shooting that person. They just don't want to get shot themselves. You would be able to tell in very short order what kind of person you are dealing with. Then a DRT round to the head and it's all over.. NEVER give up your own weapon!!!

·
Registered
24,529 Posts
It is reasonable to assume the hostage taker doesn't want to shoot the hostage, but it's a bad thing to make that assumption. A better assumption, and the assumption you must make, is that both you and the hostage will be dead if you give up your weapon. Assume everything he says is nothing but a lie, and say what it takes to drag the situation out as long as possible. You'll fair well if you've kissed the Blarney Stone, but you'll not do anyone any good if you get full of anger and make ultimatums. Don't take away his hope for escape, don't make him a cornered rat.

Do you have blue guns and friends who are willing to role-play? It'll help you get a picture from both sides.

Great thread, Paul! Something we all need to think about.

·
Registered
1,508 Posts