Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting started on prepping and I live in a decently sized city. I don't have much in the way of supplies yet so I am wondering what I should do if there is something like an EMP before I can get my stuff together.

I know I should fill up containers, tubs, and sinks, with as much water as I can before the water runs out. And hit up a store and buy as much supplies as I can, but what about after that?

If I start running low on food and water should I go to the hills? I camped a few times before, but I never tried living off the land or anything.

I live with my parents and have a 17 yo older sister and two younger brothers. One of them is 13 and the other is nine. I am a fifteen, almost sixteen, year old male. I am the only one in my family in decent shape.

·
Registered
7,617 Posts
First, welcome to the forum.

Secondly, your question would correctly be answered by writing a book. Really, there is A LOT involved. Read some posts here on EMP using the search function, and I'm sure they will serve as an introduction to your inquiries. It's good that you are thinking about such problems.

Again, glad to have you on board.

·
Registered
2,012 Posts
Some of your sequence is out of order. When an event occurs, everyone rushes the grocery store. So, you should start putting supplies in before something happens. If you're the only one in good shape, a lot of responsibility may get dumped on your shoulders. Good for you for taking steps to ensure your family's safety.
And not just EMP, but natural disasters, fires, etc need to be thought of. Is your family on board with this, or are you the only one considering prepping right now?
The answer could change how we on the forum answer your questions. A man prepping to take care of a family that is not involved brings about special challenges, particularly if you are not the "breadwinner".