Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been canning for about 5 years. I read the blue book, and several websites about canning and the consensus was that canned food (home canned) was only good for 1 year and not to keep canned goods longer than that. Everything I read also said that any sauces or soups that you can had to be from a specific recipe that was proven safe for canning.

So, I only preserve things from our garden and stick to jam and jelly recipes. Oh and we love pickling lol.

My question is this... I see people recommending canning on this site and have seen it said that canned food could last ip to 20 years. I also see people saying that they have canned their own sauces that they created. Am I overly cautious or did I miss something? I am vurious because if I am wrong it would open the door to so many more things.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
Under ideal conditions canned goods will keep for years, but the 20 year storage life is for dry goods with oxygen absorbers.

It is the same with frozen meats where the "manual" says to eat everything in the first 6 months but after 4 years the meat is still edible and tasty and after 7 years you can trim off the freezer burn and make good stew.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I understand what you are saying, however is there a source somewhere that backs that up? I dont want to get sick from eating something bad. You read about botulism and how there is no sign that a canned good has it there is no smell or discoloration. You eat it and 3 days later you spiral into paralysis. I am going to be honest it scares the bejezzus out of me lol. BUT I also understand on the other hand the people publishing books also dont want to get sued and they may be putting the 1 year limit on canned food on the off chance that 1 in 1000000000 that someone could get sick and sue them.

·
Registered
6,086 Posts