Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just starting out, and have a small budget. I am looking for a rifle that I can hunt with as well as protect myself with, what rifle good rifle can I get for around $400, and in what caliber?

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I am looking to hunt anything I can find really, I live in Wisconsin so there is a lot to hunt for around me.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Hmm, well for that price I'd personally recommend a Ruger American. Synthetic stock, bolt action, 4 round capacity detachable magazine, comes in the following calibers: 22-250, .243, .270, 7mm-08, 30-06, and .308. I have it in the .308, I've never had a problem with mine and it shoots well. It has no bells or whistles, just a simple rifle. I got mine new for $320. Of course .308 is a large caliber, so it may not be for your hunting needs. It's not the prettiest rifle (for sure), but it shoots straight and is priced well!

·
Registered
4,373 Posts
If you are not an experienced shooter I'd use the $400 in a basic 10-22, extra 4 magazines, good cleaning kit, case and some ammo to get some practice in.

·
Registered
21,643 Posts
Lot of 30-30 used in Wisconsin for Deer . We are not known for places flat enough for real long shots.
You can pick up great used 30-30 for a very fair price.
Check out Fleet Farm , they have some amazing sales on bolt action rifles

·
Registered
21,643 Posts
Don't be afraid of the rifles in Walmart for new and check your local pawn shops and gun shops for used rifles.
Meangreen he is in Wisconsin. Here we have Fleet farm they quietly enter into gun sales some years back. While not a well know gun dealer they offer a lot of good weapons and their sale prices are hard to beat anywhere. So much that the Walmart near by has all but stopped selling fire arms.

·
Registered
1,655 Posts