Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading a lot about food storage and suggestions, but have seen little to no opinion on warm weather (Florida, southern US) food storage.

There are millions of Americans within this area, where summer temps will reach upwards of 100 degrees during the day and only lower to around 80 at night and very few have basements or sub-terrain storage.

In a grid-down scenario, how long would a cache of stored food last?

In a grid-down, major disaster/war scenario where supplies are not coming in, how long before people become cannibals?

Are there any solutions to survivability in these areas?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Honestly, I'm rather new to the prepper world and I've been trying to figure out a long term solution to food storage. I got some info from a few books. Maybe this will help. Goes into detail about growing and storage conditions, temps in different environments and what not.

(link removed by moderator)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the reference.

I guess what I am asking is not how to create a homestead or environment where creating and keeping storable foods would be possible, but how to safely store foods for long periods in existing modern urban neighborhood structures under extreme weather conditions without modern amenties such as power.

·
Registered
200 Posts
Food storage is pretty easy...
Depends on the food and how you store it, dry beans, dry rice, honey, sugar, liquor except cream liquor, raw honey, corn syrup & vinegar.
Many dried foods, canned goods and, similar can last for years. More so, you can garden and can that food with sugar and/or vinegar. For meats you just smoke or dehydrate into jerky. Flower, corn meal, etc. can last a long time. Rule of thumb about 1-3 years in most cases.