Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When my son was born we were given one of this Mylar balloons in a basket, and as he got older we just sort of put all that stuff in a box. My point is, he is now 21 years old and that balloon still is as taut and full as when we got it, and that's under pressure! So my question is, if Mylar seals that well, why do we need airtight pails? I ask this because pails plus lids cost $15.00 per here in Canada. Why wouldn't a cheap Walmart bin that could fit 4 5 gal Mylar bags (with O2 absorbers, of course), sealed with liberal amounts of duct tape to keep out critters, work just as we'll? Am I way off base here? I'm a noob to prepping, but I thought this might work nearly as we'll for mid-term storage - 10 years no, but 5-6 maybe?
I throw myself on the collective wisdom of this forum.

·
Registered
640 Posts
Wow... interesting idea. I wonder how the balloons are sealed? Is there a special compound at the opening that is heat sealed? Simply buying mylar and duct taping it wouldn't seem as effective. I'd begin by researching how the balloons are made and sealed... and then share your info with the rest of us. It sounds promising on the surface.

Anyone else have experience with mylar balloons? My experience is that they have always leaked and started to deflate... but that might just be a cheaper brand the store was using. (The joys of shopping at Walmart... ) :)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry, I meant to heat seal the Mylar, and duct tape the plastic bin. The balloon just has one of those plastic cone-shaped cinches, almost like a bread closure, but cone shaped. What astounds me is not how it was sealed, because that may be just a fluke, but if a perfect seal was achieved (as is obviously the case), the Mylar did not leak even a few molecules of air!