Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
855 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So as some of you no doubt have deduced I'm a big fan of the M1 Garand. I've been lusting after one for about 4 years but have kept putting it off because life kept getting in the way and the money was needed elsewhere. This year I said no more putting it off as the CMPs stocks are dwindling so when my tax return came in I filled out the paperwork and got it in the mail. Paperwork went in the mail on 2/20/13. I ordered a Service Grade HRA M1 Garand (I wanted a Springfield but they were sold out), 200 rounds of Greek M2 Ball ammo, the M5A1 Bayonet with M8A1 Scabbard and 25 enbloc clips. Saturday I was perusing the CMP web site and noticed that CMP will no longer ship rifles directly to customers in NY state and all rifles must ship to an FFL "S#!T" I yelled "[email protected]$n stupid SAFE Act" now I needed to secure an FFL to ship to. As luck would have it I have an old friend with an FFL so I fired off an e-mail to him and he e-mailed me a copy of his FFL which I quickly forwarded to the CMP. Received a call today from a very nice lady named Vicky in customer service at the CMP who told me she got the FFL info and there would be no issues. She went on to tell me that she had not received my paperwork yet and that it was probably in the sales department still. She also told me that they were currently processing orders from January and were back logged roughly 60 days or so. I figured I would start this thread to document the process of my order with the CMP so as to encourage anyone that might be considering ordering an M1 Garand from them. I will be updating the thread as info comes in from the CMP and will of course post pictures and a range report when the rifle arrives. I'm ecstatic to finally be waiting for my Garand to arrive but feel the waiting may very well be the death of me.

-Infidel

·
Registered
1,820 Posts