Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
371 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am almost done with this one, just need to get some fine steel wool to buff the scales. After that, it will be on the market. I am particularly proud of this one though, I usually make skinners, and this is my first time making a 5" blade. With the current setup I have, you won't see me pushing it past that. I wanted it to look like an old revolver, so the steel is cold blued, and the scales are hand oiled. For anyone wondering, it is 1095 steel with Cocobolo scales. Those are the screw type pins holding the scales on with lots of epoxy. I have it sharpened to what we all call "hair poppin'". When I put it on Etsy, I will take better pictures, but these are good enough to show it off. It's really too bad I am poor, otherwise I would keep all of these.

Attachments

·
Registered
5,679 Posts
I like the lines. I have a few Bradfords and they follow the same idea.

It's everything you need, and nothing you don't.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
I like it, the Cocobolo really sets it off.

iI I wasn't poor I'd buy it.

·
Registered
371 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I should point out that I got the sheath from Texas Knifemaker Supply. My leatherwork sucks in a big way, and they sell finished sheaths cheap lol.

·
Registered
5,679 Posts
Yep it's a knife, but not my style
Show us one you like.

Lowtechredneck has built a knife that can just about do anything. It's the right length, it could be used as a hunting knife or a survival knife. With the right edge, you could go fishing with it. It would be good for camping and making tinder since the handle is ergonomic and slightly rounded to avoid "hot spots" in your hand from longer work periods. The blade is treated with "blue wash" the fights off corrosion. It has a flat spine which would enhance batoning. The handle has a deep choil to keep a frozen hand from slippimg onto the blade.