Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,373 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am increasingly connected to the world by (for lack of a better analogy) an electrical umbilical...the battery charger. So my question is what to do about battery operated devices...going cold turkey doesn't seem to be an option, yet the power goes out and that's exactly what will happen. Solar panels? Or just enjoy it now and say adios when the power goes out. I can see it going either way.

·
Registered
634 Posts
I am trying to reduce our dependance or want for electroincs in a real world SHTF (And in current life also). Honestly The more I think about it, most of these electronics are more of a cruch than they are worth. Now with that said they are nice but not a need. I am prepping to live without them. Call me crazy but I have less love for most Electronics everday, kinda ironic as I sell IT stuff for a living.......

·
Mod Squad
2,260 Posts
Most small handheld devices come with a car adapter and can be charged from a cigarette lighter. We went through an 8 day outage last summer, and that's how we charged our cells and laptops.

As sbasacco said, small solar panels designed for charging are cheap too.

I'm toying with the idea of getting a small inverter I can hook to my car's electrical system if I needed to. Another option is to have a deep cycle battery on hand for emergencies. In a pinch, this could be charged by switching it with the car's usual battery or just attaching it with jumper cables. Once charged, I would hook the inverter to the deep cycle battery. This would give me enough 120AC to charge lanterns and flashlights and whatever else needed charging, and could even run one of those electrical coolers.

Reactions: Seneca

·
Registered
1,820 Posts