Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let’s assume I am new to prepping which means I’m starting from scratch. This also means I’m having to spread my budget out over several aspects of prepping at one time. Assuming I have no firearms, what would you suggest as being my first rifle purchase? Take into consideration current conditions.

My personal suggestion is a semi-auto Marlin Model 60 .22 cal. They can still be found for reasonable prices, ammo is still available and can be found in both HP and ball, they are good for taking down small game (and even larger game with knowledge and practice) and they are lightweight and easy to carry. Not to mention, parts are readily available and reasonably priced. They are also easy to work on should the need arise.

Let me see your suggestions.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I would suggest a .22 pump. Then a shotgun with a variety of rounds for self defense and hunting large and small game.

·
Super Moderator
9,072 Posts
Rather than a rifle, I'd suggest a shotgun for starters. Can be used for hunting, etc. Use slugs and you can take larger animals. The big diameter of a shotgum barrel has a certain intimidation factor. Just my opinion, obviously.

·
Registered
6,173 Posts
Lever,bolt or pump 22lr of your choice. Accuracy would be the driving factor. No semi auto or magazine fed weapons.

Breaking my own rules I prefer a CZ 22lr bolt. Some of the best made, accurate 22's on the market IMHO.

·
Administrator
15,092 Posts
When we first moved to the country, we rented a late 1800’s farm house on the edge of the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge.
We lived at 40th and Plum.
As in “40 miles out plum in the middle of nowhere.”
Due to a divorce my gun collection was gone, except for a Colt 45 Automatic. This would be good for the bears that came around after dark, but useless for a racoon after our chickens.