Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Being a beginner prepper myself I've been pondering the question recently, "what are best actions a beginning prepper should take?"

I thought it might be a cool topic for a blog post and wanted to get some opinions. I'm thinking kind of like a step-by-step guide to follow if you're a total newbie. Should I assemble a BOB first? Find like-minded individuals? Find a BOL? Start reading survival/bushcraft books? Plan a GOOD route?

SO MANY THINGS TO GET READY!!!

So what do you think? Where should any beginner start?

·
Mod Squad
2,262 Posts
I think you should start by deciding what you're prepping for.

If you're looking at some sort of "event" which will knock out the grid and disrupt police and emergency services for, say, 4 or 5 weeks, some stored water, food, and a shotgun and/or handgun might be all you need.

If, on the other hand, you are talking about surviving a long term collapse of civilization, where basic services might NEVER be restored, I would first start by finding a location which would make survival possible in the first place. For me, (assuming you are in the USA) this would mean west of the Mississippi, in USDA plant hardiness zone 6,7 or 8, fairly close to a small farming community that is roughly 50 miles or more from any major metropolitan area. You would be looking for an area of low population density that has enough farmland to feed at least 4 or 5 times its current population.

I am of the opinion that, if you aren't in such an area, your chances for surviving a long term scenario are so low they make prepping for it a moot point. (It would still be worthwhile to prep for a short term event, however) Keep in mind that this is just my opinion, and not written in stone.