Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

Is popcorn a dessert?

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so this has been a point of contention in our ten year marriage. (I can hear you now, "If that's all you've got to worry about, you've got it good!") I won't tell you my opinion til later.

Is popcorn a dessert or not?

Help a gal out here!

This is my first time attempting a poll, so hopefully I got it right.

·
Registered
2,616 Posts
I agree it is a snack unless it is caramel corn - is that the same as kettle corn? On second thought caramel corn is a snack too.

So third option is neither.

·
Registered
1,750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you, thank you. I feel redeemed. I just wanna smack him when he suggests popcorn. I don't bother asking him for dessert ideas anymore. :lol: It's NOT DESSERT!

·
Registered
904 Posts
I view popcorn as more of a weapon than either a dessert or a snack. It pop's when heat is applied, it can cause suffocation if not swallowed properly, and it can also explode if not handled properly. Perhaps it should be classified as a weapon of mass destruction because many a household has been leveled by over cooking it which causes toxic fumes to spread rapidly causing residents of the normally peaceful domicile to flee in terror. The government really should regulate this substance for our own safety. Congrats on the 10 years and I hope this helps.

·
Super Moderator
9,165 Posts
Popcorn is a multipurpose food. While it is a vegetable, it can be eaten as a snack. To some, that snack could be a dessert, it all up the person doing the eating. It can be used as padding in a box when shipping fragile items (but could attract vermin). It can be used as Christmas tree decorations. Bird food, bait for fishing, and of course my favorite!
View attachment 3476

·
Registered
70 Posts