Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all

I storage the most ammo in the basement, today i thinked about what happened if a fire destroy the basement.
As a Firefighter i dont want to make a risk to other firefighters.
What happens to ammo in metal nato ammoboxes ? Can it explode ?

This boxes i use

15697791gs.jpg

·
Registered
5,423 Posts
I would certainly think so. It can cook off in the box if it gets hot enough. I think the best thing to do is keep it in your fireproof safe. I'm debating how to store mine. I can't afford a fireproof safe right now. I'll have about 3000 rounds of rifle ammo in a few different cans.

·
Senior Member R.I.P.
2,886 Posts
Not explode. As was stated, will cook off though. That is the primer or powder getting so hot the round ignites. But bullet one direction & case the other so highly reduced power.

A friend had a shed fire several years ago. He had stored 5gal fuel jugs with water in them then ontop. Plastic melted & cooled off the ammo cans & though the shed was a loss, there were not cook offs of ammo.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the Infos.

I Fireproof safe is to expensive for the ammo i have, i needed 2 big safes.

On youtube i found this videos

The only question is what happens in a closed metal ammobox, i think the presure will destroy the box.
I thinked to make holes in the bottom and close it with plastic, so will go the pressure on a fire out.

Greetings Peppi

·
Registered
1,368 Posts
Not explode. As was stated, will cook off though. That is the primer or powder getting so hot the round ignites. But bullet one direction & case the other so highly reduced power.

A friend had a shed fire several years ago. He had stored 5gal fuel jugs with water in them then ontop. Plastic melted & cooled off the ammo cans & though the shed was a loss, there were not cook offs of ammo.