Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a feeling that I'm opening up a can of worms, but here it goes: my background is that I have my tech license (rarely use it) and I have a GMRS license for the family. Having said that I'm trying to build out my radio cache so that I have radios for my family and friends and folks that i might end up working with should things get interesting. I have dual band mobiles in two of my vehicles and for handhelds I have the following:
- 1 Yaesu VX6R
- 2 Baofeng 888 (for the technology averse folks that just should turn a knob to select a channel and have no keypad to mess things up)
- 3 Baofeng UV5r

Appart from my Yaesu, none of the radios are dust or weather proof. I am looking to pickup 2 more HT's that don't cost me an arm and a leg, that will not die should they end up being submerged. I'm half tempted with Baofeng UV9r (got a pair from Amazon with a programming cable for under a $100). They claim 8W, knowing realities, I'll be happy with 5W :D

I'm looking to test drive a Retevis RT82 this week as well. Here one radio costs me the same as two of the UV9r's though I end up picking up some extra features. A downside for me though here is a bigger display - should the radio get dropped, bigger display is easier to crack.

What else is out there? I would love to pickup a box of Yaesu's or Kenwoods but the price of them is a bit out there. On the other hand, I don't want to pickup a radio that will stop working 2 months into the end of the world ;)

Thoughts?

·
Registered
63 Posts