Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to see if there would be any interest in the Midwest for hosting a dog training class. Dogs can smell thousands of times better than humans and can be an early dector of intruders. All dogs can alert, and some can be trained to show civil aggression. Certain breeds can be trained to bite on command. I've heard some say that they would just shoot a dog, but if a dog can detect someone and alert you, there will be plenty of time to grab your own gun :) Penny for your thoughts? Be be kind as this is what I do for a living.
Thanks,

·
Registered
154 Posts
I always had male labs and still feel they are hard to beat. A Lab just has a great personality, loyal, loving,smart, and mine always were good watch dogs. Protective of children and always warned me if trespassers were around. My last one would have torn anybody apart if they laid a hand on my daughter. We now have a Scottish Terrier house dog and he is very protective of our home. While he would/could never defend or attack, he does a great job of letting us know if anyone is around. He can hear , from inside our house, if anyone is even 50 yds from from our house. Incredible hearing. He will go to the side of the house that the "walker" is on and start growling. He has done it many times. IN a SHTF scenerio, he is definatly part of the team.

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
If you were closer, I'd take you up on the offer.

I have 2 dogs. A pure bred german shepherd...Smart, loving, and VERY VERY protective, She barks at strangers, but shuts up when they are past the house. Otherwise, she lays in a hard to see spot, and stays hidden from outside views...