Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all.

My name is Mike. I am a software developer and a prepper. I have been looking around for a while and I have found that what little software is available that is geared towards preppers, seems to be lacking a bit.

I have stopped all current projects and I am going to entirely devote my time to developing a suite of software for the prepper family.

I am thinking of software for preparing for SHTF, use during SHTF (Security & Intelligence, Barter/Trade/Retail, Resource Management, Medical, etc.) and during and post-rebuild.

So, I have a question for everyone: Assuming that the price would always be within affordable limits, and there are no limits, what features would you like to see in this software suite?

Note: For the time being, this suite will only be available for the Windows platform. If it is popular enough, I may port it to other operating systems in the future.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Why start with Windows? Microsoft and Apple are part of the problem. Why not start with Linux? I understand that people would first need to get on board, freeing themselves of prying eyes and the restrictions of them. There are tons of Distros that are not only free (releasing them from the cost of bloated & overpriced software) but are Opensource and are the most secure.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Why start with Windows? Microsoft and Apple are part of the problem. Why not start with Linux? I understand that people would first need to get on board, freeing themselves of prying eyes and the restrictions of them. There are tons of Distros that are not only free (releasing them from the cost of bloated & overpriced software) but are Opensource and are the most secure.