Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just recently starting prepping, and I have only made one purchase so far (a S&W 9mm pistol). Now I am debating between starting my Bug Out Bag or picking up a AR-!%for a little more protection/hunting abilities. Which way should I go? And please keep in mind I am a college student with minimal funds, thanks in advance for you input.

·
Registered
4,373 Posts
It depends on some things. A bug out bag can be started for under a $100. An AR-15 is likely to run you a minimum of $700 and then some for ammo, magazines, cleaning gear, case, and if you choose to add optics, bipod, etc. An AR-15 with lots of ammo, magazines and other items will easily exceed a $1000 and so then I have to ask how much you are spending a month prepping? If its a $1000 a month then save up and buy a really nice AR and lots of accessories and you can still nail down a Bug Out Bag in 2 months too.

There are other equations. Since I just left CA as a resident but still have property and still work there I know for a fact the laws are on the verge of changing dramatically there. The Gov has not yet signed AB 374 but if it does - NO ONE in CA will buy an AR-15 after Dec. 31, 2013. So if you lived in CA you might want to prioritize the AR-15 right now, and conversely if you lived in a FREE state like NV (my legal residency now) I'd avoid the AR-15 right now because once the State of CA ban goes into place the manufactureres are going to lose 11-12% of their national market - which means bargains for the rest of us next year at this time.

·
Registered
257 Posts