Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I Was doing some online reading or "surfing" as it's now called and ran into an article on General MacArthur's noted quotes. As a retired career military veteran, reader and student of military history, I did not agree with some of his actions, but thought many of his quotations were of a good representation of my heart and my life and many others who follow the beat of the drum which I follow.

Old soldiers never die; they just fade away. Douglas MacArthur

The soldier above all others Prays for peace, for it is the soldier who must suffer and bear the deepest wounds and scars of war. Douglas MacArthur

By profession I am a soldier and take pride in that fact. But I am prouder, infinitely prouder -- to be a father. A soldier destroys in order to build; the father only builds, never destroys. The one has the potentiality of death; the other embodies creation and life. And while the hordes of death are mighty, the battalions of life are mightier still. It is my hope that my son, when I am gone, will remember me not from the battle field but in the home repeating with him our simple daily Prayer, Our Father Who Art in Heaven.

Douglas MacArthur

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
Palmetto, I have a 27 year old son. It didn't bother me at all that he had no desire to follow in my footsteps with the state of the world.

Of course, he seen me have multiple surgeries and spending weeks and sometimes months in physical therapy. Reckon that could have had something to do with it, lol.

·
Administrator
15,448 Posts
Churchill is another great source for quotes.
Winston Churchill is a personal hero of mine. Some people may not know, but he was a combat vet. During the Boer War in Africa, and also in Afganistan.
My most favorite of his (and I found to be true) is: "There is nothing so exhilarating as to be shot at without result".