Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know a good place to purchase non-hybrid seeds? I looked at my latest Burpee catalog and they're all hybrid vegetables.

One of my goals is to collect and re-use the seeds after I harvest (hoping I can garden successfully enough to harvest). I'm worried that the seeds from these hybrids won't grow correctly from second generation onward.

I'm very new to gardening, so if someone who has been able to re-use vegetable seeds can comment I'd appreciate it.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I have bought from Jungs in Randolph Wisconsin for about 20 years without any complaints. This year i and trying Johnny's select seeds because they have more greens and Iam enjoying cold weather gardening in Michigan , picked spinach from a cold frame all winter long ! They both have a good selection of Heirloom or non-hybrid seeds. Stay away from Heirloom Acres seeds in Missouri as they are slow to ship products.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the input Don. Are you able to relaim and re-use the seeds from the plants you grow from these suppliers, or do you order new batches of seeds from them at the beginning of each season?

·
Banned
1,683 Posts
you can use old antique door wreathes to get old seeds. decorative corn can be near a century old if you look in the right places. JUst shuck the kernels and plant, there's a YT video about it.

[youtube:3srxihpm]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jgYTUlSVDk[/youtube:3srxihpm]

·
Registered
52 Posts