Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy from rural Virginia. I'm very new to prepping. I know I need to prep more than food, but I though that would be a good place to start. I have question:

Most folks seem to prep food by incrementally purchasing more of what they buy at the grocery store until they build up a 30 day (then more) backlog of basic foods. I have a different idea. I regularly donate money to the local food bank for the underprivileged in my area. If I switch that over to _food_ donations instead of _money_ donations, can't I turn my food pantry into a tax-deductible food store?

The idea is this. At the beginning of the year, I buy my 30 day supply of food goods. Before the end of the tax year, I buy another 30 day supply, then donate the now-almost-1-yo foods to the food bank. That way, I am using the same money I would normally donate as a tax-advantaged prep supply.

My question is this --> does anyone else do this and/or does anyone see downsides to this? Am I missing something?

The way I see it, it's a donation I would make anyway (just in a different "tender"), storing the food for almost the full year at my house gives me "prepper" advantages, and the food bank will give the food out for almost immediate consumption, so being 1 year closer to its expiration date should not matter to them.

·
Registered
3,514 Posts
Welcome to PF from NC , go ask the food bank your question , they would be able to tell you .

Reactions: Sonya

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Targetshooter - Thx! The food bank is OK with everything. I suppose I wonder if I'm missing something from a prepping perspective? Does this fail under some circumstance?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5