Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to prepping and I've been doing a lot of thinking about starting my own garden. Wouldn't want anything too big right now because I wouldn't want to overwhelm myself.

Since it's November, I'll have some time I suppose until I can actually grow anything, so I'll have some time to decide what I want to grow. Any suggestions?

Or, is there any smaller plant I could get/grow in my house? Thought about getting an aloe plant.

Composting suggestions?

What about herbs? I'd like some info about those too.

Sorry for being all over the place! I'm just very excited! :)

**I also read on Pinterest how you can grow your own morel mushrooms. I think it said to go out and find the mushrooms, then bury them under an apple tree. We have an apple tree in our backyard so that's why I'd like to try. Does anyone think it could work?

Thank you!! :D

·
Registered
640 Posts
Since you said you want to start small... I recommend a book called Sqare Foot Gardening. It's about getting maximum usage of smaller areas by mixing certain plants together.

Reactions: alanvt

·
Registered
2,797 Posts
Great idea RaigenB. I think you will seriously be glad you took something like this on. Its rewarding to me to look at dinner on the table and know that I put it there through the hard work and efforts of myself. Makes it taste all the more better! Talk about sense of satisfaction. The from a prepping stand point there is the skill you learn and build and the fact that you now have added some sustainability to your life as well.