Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

New Prepper

877 views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  warrior4 
#1 ·
Hello,
I've just recently started getting into prepping. Right now I'm just trying to get together a 72 hour shelter in place type of prep. Right now it's just me in my apartment but my finance will be moving in once we get married. I've started stockpiling extra water and I know I have enough food to last for a few days if I'm careful. I'm an Eagle Scout so making fire is not a problem. I'm also a Paramedic so first aid is my specialty. As money is tight right now due to the upcoming wedding and bills what would be some other inexpensive preps I might want to consider? Any advice would be great. Thanks.

#2 ·
Congratulations...getting started is important. I suggest you look around this forum for awhile, there are plenty of great articles that will be a big help to you. Being an Eagle Scout, you know the essentials of survival. Regarding where to start, I recommend starting with a plan. Make your lists of what you have, and what you need. Also, start thinking about where you would go if you had to stay somewhere else, for whatever reason. As you look around this forum, you will pick up on the prepping terminology, like bug-in, bug-out, bug-out-bag, shtf, and eotwawki. Good luck, and have fun!

#3 ·
Get your sustainable water plan up and running. I would start with a good filter and, if needed, some bleach that you can use to purify the water. I say "if needed" because some filters (like the Berky black filters) will remove most harmful pathogens as they filter so you technically wouldn't have to add chlorine.

If you do add chlorine, I would add it before you filter, let it work for 30 minutes or so, then filter it. I see a lot of people adding the chlorine after filtering, which I just don't understand.

#4 ·
Welcome from Missouri.

In order of importance(just my opinion mind you)