Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All

I am new to the prepping family. i need some advice on what I need to do, to get started. Where should I begin my prepping ? I have guns and ammo so I think im set in the aspect, but I am also on a budget so what do I start with?

·
Registered
257 Posts
I have to prep on a pretty tight budget. Usually, I'll give myself $5 a week at the grocery store. It's not much, but I can get some canned goods, bottled water, basic toiletries, etc. It's just small stuff, but it does add up. Of course I save and put aside for larger purchases, but I can usually do $5 a week.

·
Administrator
15,092 Posts
Welcome from Florida.
I once spent a year in your state, at the lovely gated community of Fort Carson.:mrgreen:

My wife and I are on a tight budget, always have been. When it comes to grocery shopping, try to limit your selections to what's on sale. Most grocery chains have a "house brand" that is just as good as the name brand food. If green beans are on sale, like maybe 2 cans for a dollar, buy 12 cans. Ragu spagetti sauce buy one/get one? Buy 6 jars. We eat spagetti several times a week, it's cheap.
We also buy rice - put the bag/bags in the freezer for a couple days before storing to kill any weevils that may be in there. Do the same with flour if you keep multiple bags of it to bake bread. There is a Vietnamese grocery near where I work, we buy Thailand and Vietnamese rice by the 50 pound bag. Like soy sauce on your rice dishes? Oriental groceries sell it in 1/2 gallon and one gallon jugs. Much cheaper in the long run than buying individual bottles.
We also buy Chef Boyardee canned products when on sale to store away. Canned tuna. Canned beans.
Most grocery items are on a sales cycle, usually 8 weeks. So if you miss a chance to stock up on canned peas, that sale will come back around again.