Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I couldn't find an appropriate top level forum for vehicle related discussion, so I thought try here first.

I live in the city (Austin, TX) but have some land out west where I'm starting to build out a retreat for my family. I'm by no means an expert prepper, but so far have figured out that a good bug out vehicle is perhaps the most important element of a good survival strategy. My requirements are:

4X4 long cab pickup
Easy to get parts
Immune to EMP (i.e. no electronics)
Potential for armoring

I'm thinking a late-90s F250 would be a good starting point, but pretty much any vehicle made after the late 70s will have EMP vulnerable electronics. I don't want to get a really old vehicle because I don't want to pay a "classic" premium for a 1970s vehicle that's actually reliable.

So here's my question: how would I go about stripping out all electronics from my truck? I know that at least I will need to replace the starter with a "point" system, but I'd like the vehicle totally clean just to be sure. Also, I'd like to put some light armor around the cab and to protect the engine block.

I did quite a bit of searching online before I posted here, and can't find anyone that's advertising this or similar services. Most people with good bug out vehicles seem to be mechanically inclined and did it themselves. I can do basic mechanical work, but am no expert in this field.

Can anyone recommend a shop in central-ish Texas that will be sympathetic to my requirements? Or anywhere for that matter, since I'm willing to send the vehicle across the US to get this done right.

Thanks,

Keith

·
Registered
966 Posts
Find a F150/250 with a blown motor. Put a carburated crate motor in in with points distributor. Forget the armor. Starters ain't suseptable to EMP.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts