Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I need advice some advice if you kindly would. I am still new to prepping and I am trying my best but need a little help thinking things through. I have been looking online to buy a plot of land through websites like landwatch and landandfarm.

I am currently in NYC (an apartment prepper with 3 months supplies) however I am highly inclined to leave the city. It is not safe with the high risk of false flags, dense population, etc. I only have 5k in savings (no debt at all, all paid off this summer) and want to remain completely debt free. Would it be realistic / feasible to be able to buy a plot of land for under several thousand and build a cabin from scratch (no prefabs for me) to get my homestead going?

I have no kids (just my immediate family), no husband (yet...), no debt, and 5k in savings, prepper trying to leave the city. What would be the best course of action?

Thank you for reading 馃槉 Have a blessed day!

Registered
look around there are a truck load of small plots of land for sale all over new York state cheap. I would depending on the type of transportation you have (like do you own a car?) look in a 100-200 radius or further if that's what you think would be safest and go from there. oh and get a damn shotgun too.

Registered
You would probably be relegated to land way in upstate New York and getting there would be a huge consideration. To stay debt free and own a BOL outright with a small cabin on it is probably pretty unlikely at 5K. I would keep saving and look for a 5 acre wooded lot that is situated near water. Timnerland is usually cheaper than cleared, ridge land is cheaper than bottom land and be sure no one else owns the timber rights. You might be able to score that for around 1,000-2,000.00 per acre. You might be able to set yourself up quite well for between 15-20K.

Registered