Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Super Moderator
3,407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a larger grinder to start making my own hamburger and sausages. Since I am new to this any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If you have any tried and true recipes for making sausages I would love it f you would share them.

·
Registered
6,016 Posts
I only made hamburger once. I followed a recipe that used 3 quality cuts of meat and then, because there was not that much fat in the meat, poured melted butter into the ground meat and mixed everything up....put in the fridge to firm up.
Delicious burgers.

Have made quite a bit of bratwurst and Italian sausage.

Make sure your cubes of meat are well-chilled (almost frozen) when it goes into the grinder.

·
Super Moderator
3,407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the well chilled tip. I have not seen that anywhere. I will post pics when I make it.

·
Registered
10,681 Posts
I bought a larger grinder to start making my own hamburger and sausages. Since I am new to this any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If you have any tried and true recipes for making sausages I would love it f you would share them.
Sausage making was one of my old hobbies. I got all kinds of recipes. Try these.

·
Super Moderator
3,407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you very much @bigwheel . I have bookmarked it.

·
Super Moderator
3,407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
@hawgrider the only thing stopping you from helping is you.

Reactions: Kauboy

·
Registered
523 Posts
I have only made medisterpølse since my Danish in-laws and husband ate it every Christmas. As long as you have the attachment to make sausage the sky is the limit though I would think. I have made my own ground turkey and chicken but never hamburger.

·
Registered
318 Posts