Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the market for a couple new rifles. Already have the new .308 picked out. But, I'm torn between 22WMR, 22 Hornet or 17 Hornet. I have very little experience with any of these calibers but wanted something a little more powerful than 22lr for shooting at the range or for small game hunting. From what I've seen, 22WMR is probably the most readily available. But, since I reload, I can reload the 22 Hornet or 17 Hornet. Obviously can't reload 22WMR. Well maybe you can, but I have no interest in reloading a rimfire round. The 17 Hornet uses the polymer tip and probably covers a longer distance than 22 Hornet or 22 WMR. But, it's only been around for a little more than a year and not a lot of options yet for rifles. At least, not that I've seen. Sooo, if you were in my position, which of these three would you probably choose?

·
Banned
1,711 Posts
If you haven't picked one up yet, an inexpensive black powder rifle in say .50 caliber can be very versitile. and as of yet, do not require a whole lot of paperwork to purchase. I've got an older CVA Bobcat that I can load down to squirrel velocity or up to 2100 FPS with a 300 grain Sabot. Since that's almost the same load that T.R. carried to Africa with him in about 1909, I'd say it would be a good bet for anything on the N.A. Continene

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If you haven't picked one up yet, an inexpensive black powder rifle in say .50 caliber can be very versitile. and as of yet, do not require a whole lot of paperwork to purchase. I've got an older CVA Bobcat that I can load down to squirrel velocity or up to 2100 FPS with a 300 grain Sabot. Since that's almost the same load that T.R. carried to Africa with him in about 1909, I'd say it would be a good bet for anything on the N.A. Continene