Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24,528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never dived the Eagle's Nest, but the rules still apply. It doesn't take training to go into a cave, but it takes training to get out when things go wrong, and it takes training to keep things from going wrong.

Regardless of what the investigation finds, neither father or son was a certified cave diver and the team should never have entered the cave. Clearly, such a dive is not the place to use brand new gear, even if one is certified.

I blame the father. I won't even let someone in a pool using my gear, much less take a non-certified diver into a cave.

As all of us here understands, training and familiarization of gear is key to survival. These people paid for lack of both, and their friends and family will continue to pay.

Father, son found dead in underwater cave - FOX 13 News

·
Registered
2,417 Posts
I was a PADI certified dive instructor in San Diego for many years (many years ago) and I agree that this could have been avoided with proper training.

·
Registered
24,528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was a PADI certified dive instructor in San Diego for many years (many years ago) and I agree that this could have been avoided with proper training.
Do you still get wet?

·
Registered
320 Posts
As a prepper, I am all about preparing, testing the gear before taking on such a feat. I have only went diving in the ocean with an instructor, but I am an avid backpacker and I will take days long trips in the middle of nowhere with the gear on my back. I need to know the gear will work before depending solely on it. I need to know that I am prepared for anything before I go. Also, I would never take my kid to do something so dangerous if I was not in complete control.

Its sad that this happened.

Reactions: Denton

·
Registered
1,508 Posts