Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
2,112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of our greatest concerns in Prepping is food procurement. I had great plans this fall in finally getting the time and opportunity to do some fishing and hunting, which were blown out of the water when I had my heart attack. So next year it is.

As many of you know, I am a part time Police Officer with a tribal police department and also the head of security at a medium sized high school. I live in the Pacific NW on a peninsula surrounded by the Puget Sound. And that means SALMON!!!! As a tribal employee, I am eligible to get salmon from our hatchery. I haven't been in in awhile, and given new shift assignments, promotions, hiring and purchasing now that the COPS Grant came in, craziness at the high school, my heart attack, I pretty much have avoided the place. Which means no Salmon. So next year it is.

Or this coming week. One of my students that I have a great relationship with (his mom is also a district employee who I'm friends with), works at the hatchery for the tribe just down the road from the tribe I work with. This kid loves to fish and hunt. I give him crap for going over his limit on a duck hunt. He shot at one, took down that one and the one behind he didn't see.

Anyway, we were talking about how I didn't get to go fishing this year or hunting and he says "Big Dog. Do you have a freezer?" "Yep."..."Sweet. I have to work this weekend so I'm going to grab you a COOLER FULL, I repeat, a COOLER FULL, of fresh salmon from the hatchery. I'll clean them, freeze wrap them and have my mom bring them to school."

:-o...what?

"You like eggs? I have ten laying hens and more eggs than I know what to do with. I'll load a couple dozen with the Salmon."

:eek:...what?