Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to get a decent quality switchblade but they are all over $150, are there any good knives that are <$50 CAD (preferably from Canada so I don't have to pay international shipping or on amazon because I don't approve of their actions)

I'm kind of new to this and I want more of a casual EDC kit

·
Super Moderator
1-6 months, natural disasters or economic collapse
9,630 Posts
Oh, I didn't know that

Edit: they are ok but they are obviously not CATSA (canadian TSA) safe
You should check again...
Unless this is out of date, it is illegal to possess any "automatic knife" which opens via gravity, centrifugal force, or by button operated spring mechanism.

You can legally own and carry "one-handed" knives, but they cannot fall under the definition in your criminal code of a "prohibited weapon".

·
Registered
6,106 Posts
I think my folding EDC is something like 1/2" too long to carry in my state.

I'm not losing sleep over it.

Like a knife-seller told me once, if "they" want to get you on something, they will. A 2" pen-knife will do.

·
Registered
5,854 Posts
I've owned a lot of switchblades during the time when they were a very serious attribute of self-defense. But that time has passed. Since now just about every drug seller and paranoid entrant can find an automatic knife in a matter of minutes.

I think the idea of a "buzzer" which zaps an attacker is a better idea. You can escape unharmed, and a properly controlled electrical device isn't going to kill the attacker, just permit you to escape. Yes, I have legally registered firearms.

I don't even carry these firearms in my car, and those items are all legally registered. I guess you reach an age where avoiding trouble is tantamount, and "finding" trouble is just about everywhere.

·
Registered
5,854 Posts