Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just outta curiosity, how many of you reload? What do you load and why? Myself, I've been reloading for 2 years (unless you count when I was a kid living with Ma & Pa!) I load 223, 30-30, 30-06, for rifles. 40S&W, 45acp, 38/357 mag for handguns, also have dies for 45Colt, just need to order bullets. And soon to add 9mm because I have a 5gal bucket full of brass for it! My reason(s) are: it's an enjoyable hobbie, after the initial investment it is very cost effective, it enables me to shoot more than I would if I had to pay top dollar for factory ammo, and most of all, this whole ammo crisis/shortage has had minimal effect on me personally!!! So, what's your story?

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
I reload .45 acp, .44 spc. & mag, 9mm, .40S&W, .223, .308, 7x57, .327 fed .32 H&R, 32S&W long, and .38/.357. I also cast my own bullets for .38/.357, .45acp, .44. I have not needed to cut back on my shooting since the ammo shortage started, I also don't worry much when they start talking about declaring lead a hazardous material and banning its use in bullets. I have enough lead, powder and primers to keep me shooting for a while.

Reactions: 71Chevrolet

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I reload .45 acp, .44 spc. & mag, 9mm, .40S&W, .223, .308, 7x57, .327 fed .32 H&R, 32S&W long, and .38/.357. I also cast my own bullets for .38/.357, .45acp, .44. I have not needed to cut back on my shooting since the ammo shortage started, I also don't worry much when they start talking about declaring lead a hazardous material and banning its use in bullets. I have enough lead, powder and primers to keep me shooting for a while.
Casting will be my next step in the process. I've been doing some research but am still not quite sure where to start, any suggestions?

·
Registered
4,209 Posts