Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

Obviously, I am new here. I have been 'prepping' since before it was called that, probably some 25 years. I organically garden an acre, raise chickens. (Yes, I have butchered and processed them. I much prefer hatching eggs and playing with the babies.) We eat a lot of eggs. I have a lot of different breeds of chickens. I save heirloom seeds from year to year. I can most of our food from the garden. In summer, I have 2 pressure canners going at once, all day long. I also dry some foods, bake breads that we freeze etc. We do freeze stuff, knowing that it could go bad if power is out. I'm a medical professional, so that area is covered. Heat with wood, so that is covered. I sew, quilt and I make soap. I live near 2 major rivers, and a lake nearby and public land nearby. One can hunt here too, if one is so inclined. The only thing I want to shoot is the hawk that ate some of my chickens, but alas, can't do that. Against the law. I do shoot, but there is more to prepping than handling a gun. I'm not all that into killing wildlife unless it's absolutely necessary to eat. If the time comes, the time comes. I have prepared wild game, so, I know the drill. I am exploring how to get my water well to work in a power outage, as well as looking at alternatives to get off the grid totally. I believe in sustainable living. I have a network of somewhat likeminded people, but, I believe I am the one with the largest skill set. I would like to learn more about foraging and also medicinal herbs. Well, that about wraps it up for an intro....in a nutshell.

·
Registered
2,799 Posts