Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks,

I'm completely new to this so will no doubt will be asking a lot of dumb questions!

I live in a suburban area and certainly in the short to medium term it's going to stay like that. I can't really do much in term of long term preparation at the moment, but looking at a very real possibility of nearer term supply chain issues, power outages and natural gas supply issues (my home heating is all natural gas). So going to start small and just focus on being able to manage through a short period, a month to start with and then go from there.

My starter list is:
  • Start putting away food and general supplies (seen a few good posts on this already).
  • Get a rainwater collection setup going (one thing I don't think I'll have a shortage of is rain).
  • Ability to cook, currently its all electric, so thinking of a small butane / propane stove.
  • Thinking of getting a small diesel generator.

I am sure the a hundred other things I should have on the list, but have to start somewhere.

Sean

·
Super Moderator
1-6 months, natural disasters or economic collapse
10,017 Posts
Howdy and welcome!

Your best choice is to start small and focus on short-term goals. You'll be shocked at how quickly 1 month of supplies grows to 3, and then 9, and then a year and a half, and so on.
Cover the basics. Stock what you will eat. Have redundancies for water purification/filtration. Don't forget first aid supplies.
Something that many on here consider supremely important... have a strong means to defend yourself and what you've accumulated.
If you can't defend your supplies, you're just gathering them for someone else.

Glad to have you, and good luck!

Reactions: Sean

·
Registered
41 Posts