Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw the man on the preppers show say that not many people know this, but the hand warmers are the same as oxygen absorbers. I would figure there is some type of difference in the materials and on top of things the cost difference. Right now I can get hand warmers at 75 cents each.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Although I sell oxygen absorbers for a living, this message is not about keeping sales or preventing folks from using hand warmers as oxygen absorbers if they want to; I love DIY!=)

However, hand warmers are meant to create heat, oxygen absorbers to remove oxygen. While they both are made from the same material (a form of iron oxide that when it rusts, removes oxygen from the atmosphere and produces heat as a side effect), they are packaged in ways appropriate for their primary function. Oxygen absorbers are created so the heat they produce is diffused to lessen the risk of spoiling food near the absorber. They also work over a longer period of time, where handwarmers are kind of a 'burst heat' mechanism. Plus, the outer material of an oxygen absorber is FDA approved for contact with food; handwarmers are not.

Also, if you go to our website (www.discountmylarbags.com), you can get many sizes of oxygen absorbers for less than $.75/each.=) And in bulk, you can get ALL our sizes of oxygen absorber for less than $.75 each.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks everyone for your post. I think DiscountMylarBags hit it on the head with the FDA also.

·
Registered
4,714 Posts
Kauboy mentioned this in another thread and I had never heard of it. Found this after a search rather than starting a new thread. Do any of the current members use hand warmers instead of oxygen absorbers? post number 3 seems to warn away from it. Just curious. How many hand warmers would it take for a 1 gallon mylar bag?

·
Registered
2,616 Posts