Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting so please forgive me if this post is not in the typical forum format.

A few of my classmates and I were given the honor of running our school's greenhouse for the 2013-2014 school year after our Horticulture teacher resigned. I have experience in Prepper gardening (I guess that's what you call it) and some basic mechanical knowledge, but I wanted to ask my fellow Preppers, who probably know much more than I, about their opinions on certain issues we are facing.

Firstly, our School's greenhouse has no heater. Why no one thought to put one in is beyond me, but I digress. We were thinking about making a makeshift geothermal heater, does anyone know anything about doing this? If not, does anyone out there know of cheap, preferably renewable, ways to heat a greenhouse?

Secondly, My friends and I have prior knowledge in gardening (as I mentioned before), but none of us has ever grown anything in a greenhouse (excluding our fall garden this year, which we had done individually before). Our BIGGEST question is this: When is it safe to start? What kind of plants are best for a greenhouse in the spring? What kind of trellising, if any, do we need?

Besides these, please tell us any other tips and/or tricks you may have. We know Preppers to be the some of the most resourceful bunch of folks on the planet so we ask you.