Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
928 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im like most and have a solar system but is there anyone else on here that have built or building a gasifier to run a generator?

I have been building mine for the last 6 months (I could have gotten it done along time ago but other things always come up) I hope to have it done in the next couple months and test it with a 10KW generator. If that works good then I may build a smaller version to run my Honda EU2000's. In SHTF gas and even propane will be almost impossible to get so running a generator on wood would be a very good prep...

Doc

·
Registered
6,086 Posts
A gasifier is an expensive way to run an engine. It would be cheaper to make a reflux still and make alcohol to run your gas engines. That way you use the residue to feed your animals and the liquids to fertilize your garden.

·
Registered
928 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Paul, How is burning wood from your yard expensive? After the initial cost to build one, I can use twigs and small cut up branches (after they dry out of course) to fuel it. When the generator is running I can power an electric chainsaw to cut disks from logs and then chop into little blocks with a hatchet. I see no money involved after its done, could you elaborate?

Dont you have to buy corn mash to make alcohol? in a SHTF I dont think I would have access to anything to make it, I would love to have an alcohol still for drinking or running a small engine..

Thanks,

Doc

·
Senior Member R.I.P.
2,886 Posts
Hardwood chips that are seasoned to get the gas from them plus whatever fuel to heat the chips. Think of the manhours & resources involved to be able to do that.
On the same note, you also need fuel to make alcohol. Plus to run a still you need the corn, yeast, & sugar. And its almost impossible to make your mash when its cold so a still is seasonal unless you have a building to atleast make your mash in.