Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a few questions since I am new to this... I plan on storing water in used 2 liter bottles since my husband and I are avid diet coke drinkers lol. I figured the bottles are good because I don't have to spend extra money on those huge blue containers which are like 20 bucks each and theyre airtight. I've been washing them with a bit of dishsoap and hot water then letting them dry before filling them up. With this method will I still need water purifiers?

Secondly I was curious about oxygen absorbers. I have 3 dogs and plan on stocking up food for them as well. If I place dogfood in an airtight container with an oxygen absorber will it store? If so, how long will it prolong the life of the food (approximately)?

·
Registered
227 Posts
Water will keep 6 mo to a year depending on your source. 4 drops of bleach will guarantee they last a year. I use old juice bottles and change them every June 1st which is the beginning of Hurricane season for us is FL. They never smell bad when I change them. I store unfiltered water, so if I were to use them, I would run them through a Britta filter. It would just be to improve the taste, it wouldn't be necessary.
I use 5 gallon buckets lined with Mylar and oxygen absorbers to store rice and beans. They keep well any way( 8 yrs on beans, 20 yrs on white rice) so I don't know how much longer they keep but it insures the max. Dry dog food should keep well if you packed it air tight, Mylar lined, and oxygen absorbers. It would depend on the type as well. If it has high fat contents, it will go rancid much quicker. Brown rice for example will only keep for a year or two unless you keep it in the fridge. That is due to the oils in the bran.

·
Registered
1,829 Posts