Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Everybody already knows it's important to be physically fit when SHTF...here is what the American College of Sports Medicine (the authority in exercise science in my opinion) recommends (at a minimum) for EVERYBODY. This can be done by mostly everyone, and takes only minutes a day and minimal equipment (could be done with no equipment using biometrics).

* 1 set, 8-12 reps, of 8-10 different exercises 2-3 days per week.

I have a degree in exercise physiology, and health/nutrition. I am happy to help anybody with questions or problems just shoot me a pm or post on the message board.

·
Registered
4,373 Posts
I try diligently to do two six minute miles a week, twice a week I go much slower, and all such runs are just the start of a 60 minte run then walk.

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
..I have a degree in exercise physiology, and health/nutrition. I am happy to help anybody with questions or problems just shoot me a pm or post on the message board.
As a matter of interest what are your views on vegetarianism? Veggies say the human body doesn't need meat.
Personally I'm a meat-eater and I feel empty without it

·
Registered
425 Posts
It is possible to have a balanced diet without meat, but difficult. One has to import non local products or take drastic measures in a lot of cases to do what a simple venison steak over a campfire does naturally.

Interestingly, I recently read a free kindle book on frugal housekeeping written during the height of the rationing period of WWII. There, the push was that eating "some" vegetables could be OK for the body. That thought was rather alien to our modern way of thinking, as it was 180 degrees opposite of what we preach now.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
As a matter of interest what are your views on vegetarianism? Veggies say the human body doesn't need meat.
Personally I'm a meat-eater and I feel empty without it