Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Super Moderator
9,266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start off by admitting I am a ham operator and teach the class for Techician class licensing (beginners class). I have 4 of the inexpensive Baofeng UV-5R handi-talkies.
So here's my questions:
1. How many do you own?
2. What kind of range do you expect to reach out with your Baofeng.
3. Do you have any accessories: better antenna, extra batteries, speaker/microphone?
4. What made you decide to purchase it/them?
5. Are you a licensed ham?
6. Do you understand the radio to get get the best service out of it?
7. Is/are your radio/s for use only within your family group?
8. Have you formulated a plan to prevent others from using directional finding to locate you?

Besides teaching ham to non-preppers, I'm trying to enhance my class, aimed at preppers. I'm trying gain insight into the prepper mindset, conserning the these little radios. I'd really appreciate your input. Thanks in advance.
White Product Telephony Communication Device Gadget

·
Registered
329 Posts
1. 4
2. 2-3 mi
3. Nagoya 771 and several,”foldable” antennas
4. They were cheap
5. No, and when I need these, I won’t be as concerned with the FCC (for for our brief neighborhood chatter)
6. Yes, I think, but am always happy to learn more
7. No. MAG comms (each Mag members has 2-4 identically programmed radios).
8. Yes.

·
Super Moderator
1-6 months, natural disasters or economic collapse
10,107 Posts
1. Six (1 UV-5R "master", 5 BF-888S "programmed slaves")
2. Local, 1-2 miles
3. Earphone/mic cord for each
4. Cost
5. No
6. I can use its basic functions as a glorified walkie talkie and hit local repeaters, I know it can do more.
7. Family and local neighborhood friends
8. No, important information will not be discussed over open airways, expectedly drawing little to no attention from others.

·
Super Moderator
9,266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·