Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Even thought I carry on the hip even when in the garage/shop area, that's an interesting idea as an alternative when I need to remove it when working under the car.

Reactions: shotlady

·
Registered
1,829 Posts
Great call shotlady! I've been using these for a few years now for multiple things. Mainly attaching to a stick and walking around one of my gravel roads picking up nails from construction being done. Sorta like a reverse metal detector. I'm embarrased to say, I went to the range and was trying to pick up spent casings.... DUH BRASS! Also would be good to retreive a fishing pole that went into the water. Right now, the ones I have are in the shed holding some tools up.

·
Registered
161 Posts
If you use the magnets to hang up a weapon you may want to glue a thin layerof felt or some sort of material so as not to scratch the exterior of the weapon. I hate it when I scratch a nice weapon.

·
Registered
98 Posts
I use two of them as Survival does. I mounted them to an aluminum bar shaped like a hockey stick. I sweep the gravel driveway and yard for nails and screws. It also works great to pick up the welding rod stubs after a project.

I like the idea of hanging a handgun. Maybe under a table or somewhere. Good idea.

·
Registered
496 Posts
Folks, of course you know this is NOT the proper way to store a gun in the house with children around.
Attach metal tags to kids, hang them up, then guns are safe.

·
Registered
2,218 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)
thanks survivor for putting that up i was swamped at work and the range tonight... but i didnt want it to go unsaid!
that wouldbe super for the safe or cabinet door. thanks for the hints to soften them for the scratch protection.