Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I/ve noticed a few others with a fondness for old surplus rifles. I may be piece mealing together an Enfield Jungle Carbine that will come from a hand picked spare parts inventory from an aquaintance, and it will have zero cosmetic apeal from the get go.

I've tried a few different cold blueing methods but haven't tried Oxy-Blue. Has anyone used both the paste and the liquid? I know there are a ton of YouTube vids on this, but thought some first hand feedback might be useful. The paste "seems" to be the way to go, but I have no idea/experience in the ,atter.

Some may ask why bother but I'm sort of anal retentive about my weapons, even if they are nearly 80 years old and consist of pieces never mated together before, lol.

·
Registered
436 Posts
I've tried them all over the years however not to do large areas. I mostly use cold bluing to repair scratches and such. They all work pretty much the same with the better you prep the surface the better the results. So may take several coats while others cover quicker. None of them really stood out as outstanding to me including Oxy-Blue. At the moment I have the Hoppes Gun Blue Set. Now if you really want it done right I would send it off for either hot bluing or getting one of the several paint systems put on it. To refinish most of the expense is in sending a complete gun to be done but if you send just the parts it can be pretty reasonable.

·
Registered
855 Posts