Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats the best water filter that there is out there? My friend said that all you have to do is use one of thos britra filters. I wouldn't think this is a good idea since those filters have an expiration date.

·
Registered
6 Posts
There is a new filter out that compares the brita to a new brand. Off the top of my head I don't know the name, but I'll get back with you on it.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Hey Guys check out the Sawyer Emergency Water Filtration Systems. These filters simply attach to a five gallon bucket and can filture up to 550 gals a day depending on the model. They are relatively cheap and can be purchased from many sources to include Cabela's and Bass Pro.

·
Registered
693 Posts
I have used a small Katadyn for hiking in the mountains, it worked like a charm. I have no experience with larger ones though...

·
Registered
34 Posts
I wonder if you can strain water through a coffee filter and it will kill the bacteria/viruses by the boiling process? I have h20 tablets right now, but i'm sure pond water will need to be strained first. The 500 gallon buckets seem like a good idea, but if you had to bug out fast, they would be troublesome to carry.

I agree with others on teh Katadyn filters. Here is the one I have.
[attachment=0:2alappbx]kat.jpg[/attachment:2alappbx]

Attachments

·
Registered
34 Posts
They have these little tube like ones for drinking out of streams. Although I wouldn't use it unless it was a last resort because some are considered fake and run about 10 dollars! The fake ones just have cotton in them to filter out particles. The real ones have cotton as well as activated charcoal in them. Some users say that they are both junk though and that they fall apart easy. Here is a photo of one.

[attachment=0:2sejcsmy]small water filter.jpg[/attachment:2sejcsmy]

Attachments

·
Registered
693 Posts