Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a solar panel to have in my BOB, and see a lot of choices. GoalZero looks good, but expensive.
I am very new to prepping so I thought it best to listen to the advice of you more experienced preppers.

Thank you,
Pete

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
For light weight power and portability I chose a Burton Solaris 52 (52 watt solar panel that fold up), A Burton Impel (145 wh rechargeable Lithium Battery only weighs 2 lbs) and a battery charger for AA and AAA batteries.
I did some research and this is the closest setup that I could find that is like the system the army uses.
http://i1211.photobucket.com/albums/cc429/Rickinky/portablecharging.jpg

The roll up solar panel and the upper solo-15 lithium battery was updated with the panel and battery in the bottom of the picture.

·
Registered
693 Posts
For light weight power and portability I chose a Burton Solaris 52 (52 watt solar panel that fold up), A Burton Impel (145 wh rechargeable Lithium Battery only weighs 2 lbs) and a battery charger for AA and AAA batteries.
I did some research and this is the closest setup that I could find that is like the system the army uses.
http://i1211.photobucket.com/albums/cc429/Rickinky/portablecharging.jpg

The roll up solar panel and the upper solo-15 lithium battery was updated with the panel and battery in the bottom of the picture.
How much did that one cost ya??

·
Registered
693 Posts

A little looksie at the Goal Zero Nomad 7

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
How much did that one cost ya??
The Solaris CIGS 62 (62-Watt 3.4LB ) folding panel sells around $1200.
The Impel2 is a 145 watt hour 2LBs Lithium Ion storage battery and sells for around $300

The Solaris ( Copper indium gallium selenide) is the most efficient solar panel