Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a beginner prepper from Oklahoma City. I have only recently thought of prepping after the events in Boston. I want to put together an emergency backpack that will last for at least a week in case i need to get out of town. I have been reading about essentials such as food, water, medical kit and so forth. I also want to prep my SUV at some point as well with more emergency supplies. Any advice for a newbie prepper would be welcome.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
Use the search bar and search for bug out bag or "bob"

Lots of good threads lately

·
Registered
335 Posts
Don't waste your money on overly expensive crap. My entire bob cost $125 and that includes 100 rounds of .22 ammo and several knifes and a two man tent. I broke it into the following groups in the bag.

food - I have about a week worth of food - spam, rice, beans, cans of soup, etc. Don't buy any of those prepper food things like Wise - way too expensive
fire - mag strip, matches, lighters, magnifying glass, flint, etc. 5-6 different ways to start fire
medical - bandages, various pain killers, pepto, tums, several other first aid supplies
survival/misc - two man tent, this has a mix of stuff, fishing/tackle gear, knives, ammo, flashlights, 100ft paracord, wire, clothing, list goes on and on.

I don't count my .22 pistol as part of my bob bag as I plan on carrying it on my hip.

Most of this stuff was picked up at walmart and the dollar stores.

·
Registered
492 Posts
welcome to the forum. there are many posts regarding BOB's and lots of members available to help. Just ask... We're glad you're here.
Howdy and welcome from TEXAS!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Good backpacks

Armageddon Online - Bug Out Bag Checklist (Infographic)

I found this looking over some favorite sites and thought of you, some of the items are stupid, but most are good ideas.