Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started on putting my BOB together and I am debating on two different bags (I will provide links for both on the bottom of this post), one has a pouch for a bladder the other doesn't. both are around $50, I'm kind of torn. I am a bigger guy(6'2" around 280) I want a waist strap for easier carrying. If I do end up going with the one without a bladder pouch can I buy a camelback and wear it under my pack without worrying if it will burst?

Army ACU Large 45L Rio Grande Hiking Tactical Military Backpack Camping | eBay
OR
OD Army Green Tactical Military Style Assault Pack Backpack w MOLLE Medic | eBay

·
Mod Squad
2,260 Posts
I've never tried it, but i would be worried that the weight of the pack would pressurize the water and make it leak. I also would wonder how comfortable it would be to stack up shoulder straps like that. Bottom line: I would look for a pack with a bladder pocket.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
For the size your interested in I'd suggest taking a look at Maxpedition's "Gear Slinger". Check out some of the video's on Youtube. It has a place you can add a camel back if you want, or you can use that pouch nicely for other stuff.

Personally I don't like Camelbacks because having the hose there will lead to sub-conscious sipping. First few times I spent a day carrying a pack with the hose I came back half sick and bloated from all the water I had drank! When I told a friend about it who sells equipment and he laughed and told me it was common, and didn't recommend people use the things for that exact reason. It's just to easy, it's right there, and without thinking about it you find yourself sipping on it till you've about busted and the thing is dry! :D

I tried using it again a few times down the road and ended up giving it away to my daughter who ended up not using it for the same reason I did without me even telling her! :D

·