Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just curious if we have any preppers who are into aquaponics here?

I remember seeing a guy on season 1 of Doomsday Preppers who had an aquaponic setup with tilapia and plants. At the time I thought it was a really neat idea. Up until tonight, I didn't realize there was a whole subculture of people doing this. I am just so impressed by the whole thing. I am going to start looking out for a cheap fish tank to try and tinker around with an inside growing system of my own.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Hello, new to the site and just sent out a thread to anyone who maybe into the aquaponics systems, and saw your post after I posted. Sorry for the repeat!! Im just beginning my system, its not a large system but we are rural midwest and wanted something for indoors so I had veggies and fish all thru the year. Especially for winter months when prices sky rocket and veggies choices are crap at the grocery. Ive read, youtubed, googled anything I could on this and am completely infatuated with it. We are avid gardeners and fish keepers so I said hey why not at least give it a shot! We have a teacup potbelly family member who eats mainly veggies and some protien (fish) and thought this would at least give some relief to out of pocket at the grocery and what they offer anymore is questionable. We will see how this goes, I will keep you posted and get some pics going and will send them thru if you are still interested!!!

·
Registered
4,373 Posts
Its on my radar to study right now and even invest in - a little.

The thing is my wife and I have a nice home in California. There is a lot to like here including friends,
church, and even family. My wife was on board with moving to very rural Nevada next year where I've
been building (by myself) our new home. The cool thing about moving to Nevada is we will be self