Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to prepping and live in a country were the largest size of ammo I can get is BB. I currently have a few packs of 9 shot and a few 5 and 6.

They range from 24 grams to 36 grams

What are the best for prepping? I have seen a video on you tube for prepping and they say to have a wide variety so you can hunt small birds and protect your house.

Can someone advise which are best to keep a few boxes of? also has anyone found a website that shows the damage caused but each size of shell?

·
Registered
7,896 Posts
One could always cut around the case where the cushion part of the wad is to make what the ******** call a "Cutshell".

My friends and I would craft the change to our field loads and shoot them at water jugs for a splash.

Cutting around the shell leaves the front part intact around the wad. When fired the wad and front part stay together with the shot`and it act's like a slug.

·
Registered
640 Posts
Neo... If you are limited on what you can purchase... then it should cost you a lot less to stock up on all options. Keep in mind that prepping considers all possible situations. Besides the normal disaster types, one of those could include additional gov't restrictions on the types of ammo you can purchase. So... if you buy now you are usually grandfathered with the law. Besides... what they don't know they can't do anything about.

Another reason to have a wide range and large stockpile is that any excess you don't need can be used as a barter item to get what you do need. You may prep... but that doesn't mean your neighbors do. It's better to have something to trade them and make them feel secure than to have to fight them.

·
Administrator
14,702 Posts
#9 shot is mostly used for shooting clay pigions in trap and skeet competition.
#6 is used for hunting game birds such as dove, quail, etc.